One Photo a Day 2014 – Starting Out

Having completed ‘one photo a day’ (365) projects in 2008 and 2011 I know what a commitment it is and to be honest I never thought that I would be doing one again. So what has brought me back?

Firstly, I’ve been scrambling around for a personal project to get my teeth into for the year but nothing was really tempting me. The second thing was that during the latter part of last year I started to take one or two pictures a week around the City of London and in black and white. I was quite pleased with the results and got some very nice comments and it made me think that this could be a style and theme for the year.

Whilst I was very proud of finishing the last two projects they seemed more about stamina than photography and in particular the results were quite a mish-mash of styles and a mix of monochrome and colour. I’ve heard of other ‘project 365’ people who have put all of their pictures in a photo book but this is something that hasn’t tempted me as my photos haven’t hung together as a collection.

The idea this year (I hope) is to move on from my previous attempts and create a collection of photographs that have a theme and have a consistent style. The one hard rule for 2014 then is to have every photo in black and white. Less hard and fast is that I intend to take a lot of urban street pictures and, where possible, portraits.

I’m determined not to put myself under too much pressure so my thoughts at this point is just to go as far as I can, even if this is just a month or two. Let’s see after that.

See the full set of daily photos.

2 thoughts on “One Photo a Day 2014 – Starting Out

  1. I like the b/w theme and the focus in most cases on the ordinary/street life. Have you ever gone on any London meetups? I did Blipfoto for a while – the same one photo a day idea – which was fun but I never managed to last for the full 365 and I found it stressful at times, rather than enjoyable. I learnt a bit about photography from it, though.

    1. Thanks! I have done London meetups, although not for a few years, and found them pretty cool. The 365 thing is tough and having done it a few times, I probably won’t do it again (never say never?!).

Leave a comment