Loch Ness Marathon – Part 4 – Pre-race thoughts

The last little 5km training run is in the bag and I guess i’m as ready as I’m going to be for the race in two days time.

When I signed up it was because I knew I had a sub-four hour time in me. Now the race approaches and I realise that I’ve not trained nearly enough, i’m feeling less than confident about that. I have to remind myself that even finishing a marathon is a pretty tough call and if I can do that then I shouldn’t be unhappy. I’ve decided, therefore to put in place a (self-awarded) medal system:

  1. Bronze – Finish (at all, in any time)
  2. Silver – Beat my previous PB of 4 hours 12 minutes
  3. Gold – Run under 4 hours

Perhaps I can get my kids to make some medals??

My other thoughts revolve around the logistics of getting there and having a rough race plan, including when to take on water and energy gels.

I had been getting a bit down about my prospects for the race but re-assessing my goals has given me a much brighter outlook. A marathon should be one of the pinnacle achievements of my year yet only yesterday I was thinking it was something to just ‘get past’ before I can do some really cool things. I have invested a lot of time and effort in this and if I finish I should be proud.

I might even boldly declare that I’m going to try and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

