Loch Ness Marathon – Part 3

In the weekend just gone, I was supposed to have run my longest training run, which I hoped would have been in the 30-32km range. I barely managed 20 km.

Things have not gone at all to plan and i’m pretty worried. When I originally signed up for a marathon in late September I imagined that my main problems would be the summer heat. What I hadn’t anticipated was the problems of training through various summer holiday’s and other trips.

I’m also, if I’m honest, just getting a bit bored when running for 2 plus hours, something I also experienced in 2009 when I last did a marathon. It is interesting to note that I find ‘just running’ to not really be much fun anymore. I really want an extra dimension, be it trail running, obstacle races or even just BMF.

I am now in the tapering phase and so will be easing off of the long runs from now on. Let’s hope this gives me the energy I need on the day to get a sub 4 hour time or possibly even finish at all.

Leave a Reply

