Fitness Update 2013 – BMF

I realise that I’ve not updated my fitness progress on this blog for some time and it is in need of an update. Part of this is because I’ve been writing a separate daily blog and partly because for most of 2012 I had nothing to update.

Where has my Mojo gone?
After the birth of my first child I managed to complete many 10k races, a marathon and, after one notable DNF, a (sprint distance) triathlon. Things were a lot harder after my second child came along and I tried to get by with some cycling and/or the odd run. By the middle of 2012 my mojo had almost completely gone and I was despairing of ever enjoying exercise again. I needed a boost, maybe even a shock to get me back into things and finally I found it – British Military Fitness (BMF).

My brother-in-law has been going for years and sang its praises and is in pretty good shape. The signs looked good and so in November 2012 I bit the bullet and signed up for a tester session.

Shock and Awe
BMF run sessions from public parks all over London (and the rest of the UK) but the nearest to my work for me is Hyde Park. It was a dark and chilly November evening and the rendezvous point was in a dark, poorly lit car park. After a quick chat with one of the instructors I found myself pulling on a blue (novice) bib and lining up with the others.

We were led off and proceeded to do various exercises round a pitch black park. Lots of sprinting, press-ups sit ups, planks and lots of fun games. You are constantly partnering up with one or more people (where you gasp your names at each other). After an hour of this it was over. I was a broken man, almost dizzy with exhaustion, legs like jelly, lungs burning, just broken. I absolutely loved it, this was just what I was looking for. In the days that followed I could barely walk I was so stiff but all the time I couldn’t wait for the next session.

Progress
I started out a lowly blue bib, going just once a week but in February I made the jump to red bib and in April the even bigger jump of going twice a week. I have been supplementing these session with a bit of jogging so that I get at least two bouts of fitness training a week.

The single best thing about BMF though, and possibly the genius of it, is that you cannot rest on your laurels and are always asked for maximum effort. This means that every session is hard but you see steady progress. It never gets easier, you just get fitter. I like that line.

Leave a Reply

