Annual Report 2011

Well, it’s been an exciting year. Here is the news and facts about my cultural life that are fit to print.

Photography

The big achievement in 2011 was to complete the ‘One photo a day’ project without missing a day. I did my first one in 2008 and I’m wondering if I should keep doing this every 3rd year? Praps I’ll see how I feel in 2013?

In total I took 4216 pictures with my ‘good’ camera (Canon 5D) and uploaded 891 of them to Flickr. I’ve not really kept tabs on how many iPhone photos I’ve taken.

Books

I attempted to read 20 books in 2011, though one was War and Peace that I had started the previous June (!!!) and David Copperfield that was not finished until 2012. I didn’t finish the Mitfords book as I felt i’d gleaned enough by half way or ‘Suttree’ which I just wasn’t enjoying.

It was quite a mix of books including trashy thrillers, classics, biographies and quite a few history books. All of the books, listed in the order I read them, including my favourites:

  • War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy (finished)
  • The Mitfords – Letters between six sisters – Edited by Charlotte mosley
  • The Life and Strange Surprizing Adventures of Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
  • Firewall – Andy McNab
  • Rifles – Mark Urban
  • The Last Kingdom – Bernard Cornwell
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Stanley Kubrick biography – John Baxter
  • Nelson – A personal history – Christopher Hibbert
  • A Call for the Dead – John Le Carre
  • Absolution Gap – Alistair Reynolds – GOLD
  • The Lost World – Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Suttree – Cormac McCarthy (Did not finish)
  • How Not to Grow Up – Richard Herring
  • Conquest: English Kingdom in France – Juliet Barker
  • War without Garlands – Robert Kershaw – Bronze
  • David Copperfield (Started) – Charles Dickens
  • The Blackest Streets – Sarah Wise
  • The Greatest Show on Earth – Richard Dawkins – Silver

Cinema

I saw 22 films at the cinema this year. Overall not quite such a stellar year as 2010 but there were a couple of corkers.

Black Swan – Gold
127 Hours
True Grit
Never Let Me Go
Animal Kingdom
Paul
Submarine
Pina 3D – Silver
Fight Club
Attack the Block
Senna
Tree of Life
Super 8
Captain America
The Guard
The Inbetweeners
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – Bronze
Drive
Ides of March
Adventures of Tintin – Secret of the Unicorn
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

TV Films

This year I kept a record of the films that I saw on my television either via a DVD or recorded from a station:

  1. Local hero
  2. Italian job
  3. Jungle book
  4. Mean streets
  5. Evil dead
  6. Hot fuzz
  7. 12 Angry Men
  8. Midnight run
  9. Romanzo criminale
  10. Day of the Dead
  11. Pirates of the carribean: dead mans chest
  12. Skeletons
  13. Heat
  14. Transporter 3
  15. The money pit
  16. Top gun
  17. In Bruges
  18. Grosse pointe blank
  19. The Prestige
  20. Rollerball
  21. Watchmen
  22. Coming to America
  23. Good will hunting
  24. Open range
  25. Mad Max 2
  26. Ghost town
  27. District 9
  28. Four Lions
  29. About Schmidt
  30. The assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford
  31. 3:10 to Yuma
  32. Kick-Ass
  33. The Town
  34. The Magnificent Ambersons (part of)
  35. Dog day afternoon
  36. Back to the future
  37. Trading places
  38. Star Trek

TV Series

I have a long list of TV series’ that I want to watch but I don’t get the opportunities that I would like which has meant that I’ve only racked up a few. All three were good but the finale season of The Wire has to be the winner.

  • Battlestar Galactica – Series 2
  • The Wire
  • Arrested Development – Series 1

Museum Exhibitions

I saw a few Museum exhibitions, my favourite being the Don McCullen, War Photographer which I thought was very powerful.

High Arctic – National Maritime Museum
Warhorse – National Army Museum
Degas – Royal Academy
Afghanistan – British Museum
Ministry of Food – Imperial War Museum
Don McCullen: War Photographer – Imperial War Museum

I visited the galleries of many other places and I think i’ll try to record all of my cultural visits next year.

Leave a Reply

