Bread diary no. 12 – Spelt rolls

One of my colleagues at work is intolerant to gluten and made a request for bread she can eat.

As luck would have it I was given some spelt flour for Christmas that I was keen to try.

I don’t like to be too hard on myself however so I went for 60% spelt and 40% strong white flour. I was a tiny bit worried about how well it would rise so added a bit more yeast and slightly less salt.

It was a tricky dough to work with with hardly any gluten in but I coaxed it into a decent shape eventually.

Coming out the oven they smelt really nice. Eating didn’t disappoint either. The texture was a bit grainy but the taste was nice and went well with blue cheese and the soup we had for our tea.

Leave a Reply

