Coffees of the month – Yemen Mocha Matari and Guatemala El Bosque Amatitlan Red Bourbon

Another month, another ‘coffee of the month’ review. This time I look at coffees from very different places.

Coffee from the finest estates
Coffee from the finest estates

Yemen Mocha Matari
The classic, original mocha (not to be confused with the chocolate coffee drink). I was keen to give this a try as Yemen is an old and high profile coffee growing country and mocha it’s most famous ‘brand’. I found this quite delicious – rich and, not surprisingly, a bit chocolately. I liked this and am keen to try some more mocha.

Guatemala El Bosque Amatitlan Red Bourbon
This was a very drinkable coffee, nice and fruity and a little acidic! I am finding over time that I prefer smooth, less acidic coffees so while this was good I much prefered the Mocha this month. I also generally found that this coffee didn’t particularly stand out from others I tried so I may not be getting it again.

Leave a Reply

