Triathlon 2009 – training plan

I completed the Edinburgh Marathon on the 31 May 2009 which I was very glad to finally get under my belt but now it’s back to triathlon.

I’ve not done any cycling since September and I’d more or less cut out the swimming in the latter stages of marathon training so of the three disciplines it’s only my running that is in form. I therefore feel like I’m starting again more or less from scratch.

I’ve decided not to try and be too ambitious this year, particularly as I’m starting late in the season. I’ve therefore decided to do only one triathlon this year, the Southwater sprint relay. This gives me 12 weeks to get in shape but without too much pressure of an imminent race.

Time
One of the major problems I have with any kind of serious training is finding the time. I’ve a young daughter and family commitments that I don’t want to miss out on so it can be tricky. Previously I’ve been restricted to training in the evening or at weekends which became quite limiting.

My attempted (partial) solution has been to join the gym near my work and do at least some of my workouts there. I can use their pool and the running machines and catch up doing some proper outside runs and cycles at weekends.

Strength training
Seeing as I’m at the gym I’ve also decided to try to add some compound weight training to my regime. This will involve some squats, dead-lifts and some bench pressing. I’ll also be doing a little core work too.

In theory this should make me stronger in the right places for my endurance training. I’ve no desire to bulk up, but lets hope this proves useful.

If I’m honest, I’m also keen to just try something different.

I’ve had my first session and I’m feeling a bit sore (in a good way) and I’m looking forward to improving.

Let’s see how it goes. I’m pretty excited.

2 thoughts on “Triathlon 2009 – training plan

  1. that would be great. i’ll be in one of the crystal palace triathlete teams. good luck with the ironman!

Leave a Reply

