Coffee of the month – Rwanda Kopabagaki

Here we go with the fourth installment of the ‘Coffee of the month‘ reviews, although I notice that I’m drinking enough coffee to do them slightly more often. Keeping with my plan to rotate around the coffee growing continents we are back at the beginning – Africa.

Rwanda Kopabagaki
Up to now, I’ve been getting my coffee from Has Bean but this month I got a bag from the Square Mile coffee company. One of their interesting quirks is that instead of the usual 250g bags they go for 350g. I did find this quantity a bit more useful, especially as I try various brewing methods for each coffee before I settle on a favourite.

One relatively significant problem I had while trying this coffee was a fairly substantial cold that severely reduced my power of smell and taste. This has turned out to be shame as it was only towards the end of the packet that my cold went and I got to fully appreciate this coffee.

So here it is, the verdict. Very nice. I could go on to say that it was smooth and approachable and was enormously more-some (something I wouldn’t always say even about coffees I adore). Not quite as light and effortless as many Kenyans I’ve had but in that region (geographically and in flavour). The Kenyan Kirgia I tried a few months back probably has the edge, but this was close.

Aeropress
Aeropress

As usual I gave this a few different brewing methods but was finding that the simple french press seemed to work best for me. I gave it a couple of goes in the aeropress and it was good, I’m just not sure that it was this coffee’s strength.

Raw Potato
The coffee site gave a warning of a potential defect to look out for with this coffee – raw potato. Not any actual raw potato you understand, just the smell. Apparently the coffee cherry is sometimes attacked by an insect and the consequence, which only comes out once ground, is the strong smell of raw potato. I was almost disappointed not to find this with any of my batch. Interesting though.

Coffee fact of the month
After Brazil the second largest producer of coffee in the world is in fact Vietnam. It’s mostly robusta beans, but still, it’s not a name synonymous with coffee.

Leave a Reply

