Triathlon – swim training

Six weeks ago I could just about manage a bit of breast-stroke once a week. Now I’m swimming with the confidence of a barracuda, though not quite the skill.

233 - ready for a swim

For the last few years I’ve been going swimming every so often, doing the same stroke and not really feeling like I was improving. Signing up for the triathlon, however, has made me try to get better and even to have a go at front-crawl, something that I’ve never been properly taught.

In the absence of any convenient courses, I’ve been observing other people in the pool and in videos on the web and slowly tried to swim front-crawl. At first I could only manage the odd length before nearly dieing, but over the weeks my fitness has improved and so (I think) has my technique.

Sadly, I think I’m going to run out of time before I’m going to be able to swim front-crawl non-stop, but I’m hoping to manage it at least half the time in the race.

Over the winter I aim to really work on the swimming and next year I should have no excuses!

Leave a Reply

